## LAWRENCETOWN SOURCE WATER PROTECTION ADVISORY COMMITTEE

# Terms of Reference February 2012

These Terms of Reference shall serve to constitute the Source Water Protection Plan (SWPP) Committee as an advisory committee to the Village of Lawrencetown and it's Utility. It will address problems, solutions and recommendations to matters concerning land-use issues, as well as water quality and levels and flows in the source water protection area.

### **MANDATE**

The Committee will report to the Lawrencetown Village Commission and the members will be appointed by the Village Commission.

#### **GENERAL**

- 1. The Committee will review and make recommendations on all activities affecting the source water protection area as requested by the Village Commission.
- 2. The Committee may from time to time request individuals or groups to make representation to the Committee on matters affecting the source water protection area.
- 3. The Committee will review and comment on water quality and quantity monitoring programs and other studies related to the source water protection area. All applicable water quality information available from member agencies shall be made available to the Committee.
- 4. The Committee may liaise with government agencies not represented on the Committee with regards to matters affecting the source water protection area.
- 5. The Committee will develop information and education programs about source water protection for local residents, land owners and other users of the area.
- 6. The Committee will elect a Chair and Vice Chair.

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

## Committee Members

- three (3) residents of the Village with at least one resident that lives within the source water protection area.
- two (2) Village Commissioners
- Municipality of the County of Annapolis Councilor for the area (or her/his alternate)

### **Technical Advisors**

- one (1) technical representative from Municipality of the County of Annapolis
- two (2) technical representatives from the Village of Lawrencetown

- representatives from: NS Dept of Transportation & Infrastructure Renewal
  NS Dept of Natural Resources
  NS Dept of Environment
- other advisory members may be added depending on the needs of the Committee

## OPERATION OF COMMITTEE

- 1. The Chair and the Vice Chair of the Committee are appointed annually by the membership at the meeting in December. Members will serve on the Committee for at least one year, after which the Village Commission shall appoint members as necessary.
- 2. The Village of Lawrencetown will provide the administrative/secretarial services for the Committee.
- 3. The Committee members will receive a meeting notice and agenda approximately four (4) days prior to each meeting.
- 4. The Committee will endeavour to conduct business by consensus however, should the Committee be unable to attain a consensual agreement on an issue, the Village Commission may appoint a facilitator. Should this process fail, voting may be necessary. All motions require support from at least two-thirds majority of the voting members. Four (4) members will constitute a quorum. In the event that the quorum includes 3 possible representatives of the Village Commission, a unanimous vote will be required.
- 5. The Committee will meet as necessary, but not less than two (2) times a year.
- 6. The Village Commission may amend the Terms of Reference for the Committee as needed, in consultation with the SWP Committee.
- 7. The Committee shall prepare an annual report of its activities for the Village Commission by March 15th of each year. This report will also be presented at the Village Commission's Annual General meeting in June. At the direction of the Village Commission, the report may also be available to other interested parties.
- 8. The Chair will act as the Committee spokesperson and in his/her absence the Vice Chair will perform this duty.
- 9. The Committee may call for the input of other land owners in the source water supply area as deemed necessary.

AS APPROVED BY THE LAWRENCTOWN VILLAGE COMMISSION AT A DULY CALLED MONTHLY COMMISSION MEETING.

DATE APPROVED:		
COMMISSION CHAIR: _	 	
CLERK/TREASURER:		